Public Document Pack



Tuesday, 20 November 2018

Trafford Town Hall Talbot Road Stretford M32 0TH

Dear Councillor,

Your attendance is requested at an Extraordinary Meeting of the Council of the Borough of Trafford on WEDNESDAY, 28 NOVEMBER 2018, at 6.00 P.M. in the COUNCIL CHAMBER, TRAFFORD TOWN HALL, TALBOT ROAD, STRETFORD, for the transaction of the business set out below:

Pages

1. Conferment of the Title of Honorary Alderman

To consider a report of the Corporate Director of Governance and Community 1 - 2 Strategy.

Yours sincerely,

JIM TAYLOR

Interim Chief Executive

Membership of the Council

Councillors T. Ross (Mayor), R. Chilton (Deputy Mayor), D. Acton, S. Adshead, S.B. Anstee, S.K. Anstee, Dr. K. Barclay, J. Baugh, J. Bennett, Miss L. Blackburn, R. Bowker, C. Boyes, Mrs. A. Bruer-Morris, J. E. Brophy, B. Brotherton, D. Bunting, D. Butt, T. Carey, M. Cawdrey, G. Coggins, M. Cordingley, J. Coupe, J. Dillon, A. Duffield, Mrs. L. Evans, N. Evans, M. Freeman, Mrs. D.L. Haddad, J. Harding, J. Holden, D. Hopps, M. Hyman, C. Hynes, D. Jarman, D. Jerrome, P. Lally, J. Lamb, J. Lloyd, S. Longden, E. Malik, A. Mitchell, P. Myers, A. New, E. Patel, K. Procter, J.R. Reilly, B. Rigby, B. Sharp, B. Shaw, J. Slater, E.W. Stennett, S. Taylor, S. Thomas, L. Walsh, A. Western, D. Western, M. Whetton, G. Whitham, A.M. Whyte, A.J. Williams, J.A. Wright, M. Young and Mrs. P. Young.

Extraordinary Meeting of the Council - Wednesday, 28 November 2018

Further Information

For help, advice and information about this meeting please contact:

Ian Cockill, Democratic Services Officer

Tel: 0161 912 1387

Email: ian.cockill@trafford.gov.uk

This Summons was issued on **Tuesday, 20 November 2018** by the Legal and Democratic Services Section, Trafford Council, Trafford Town Hall, Talbot Road, Stretford M32 0TH

Any person wishing to photograph, film or audio-record a public meeting is requested to inform Democratic Services in order that necessary arrangements can be made for the meeting.

Please contact the Democratic Services Officer 48 hours in advance of the meeting if you intend to do this or have any queries.

Agenda Item 1

TRAFFORD COUNCIL

Report to: Council – Extraordinary Meeting

Date: 28th November 2018

Report for: Decision

Report of: Corporate Director of Governance and Community Strategy

Report Title

Conferment of the Title of Honorary Alderman

Summary

This report recommends that the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on former Councillors Mrs Pamela Dixon MBE and Mrs E V Ward

Recommendation(s)

That, being of the opinion that former Councillor Mrs Pamela Dixon MBE and former Councillor Mrs E V Ward have rendered eminent services as past members of the Council, the Council, under the provisions of the Local Government Act 1972, hereby confers the title of Honorary Alderman upon former Councillor Mrs Pamela Dixon MBE and former Councillor Mrs E V Ward in recognition of their exceptional service to the Borough of Trafford.

Contact person for access to background papers and further information:

Name: Peter Forrester, Head of Governance

Extension: 1815

Background Papers:

Letter from Councillor Sean Anstee – dated 30 June 2018

Background Information

Relationship to Corporate Priorities	None
Relationship to GM Policy or	None
Strategy Framework	
Financial	There are some minor costs associated with the award arising from the award of medals for the Aldermen. This will be met from the Democratic Services budget.
Legal Implications	The formal decision to confer the status of Honorary Alderman must be made by an Extraordinary Meeting of the Council
Equality/Diversity Implications	None
Sustainability Implications	None

Staffing/E-Government/Asset	None
Management Implications	
Risk Management Implications	None
Health and Safety Implications	None

Background

Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 provides that the title of Honorary Alderman may be conferred by the Council on persons who have, in its opinion, rendered eminent service to the Council as past Members of this Council, (or a predecessor Council), but who are no longer Councillors. The title is to be conferred by a resolution passed by not less than two thirds of the Members voting on it at a meeting of the Council specially convened for the purpose.

Honorary Aldermen are invited to attend Council meetings in a nonparticipating capacity. They do not to receive any allowances or payments under section 173 to 176 of the Local Government Act 1972. Honorary Aldermen are also invited to attend and take part in civic ceremonies such as Civic Sundays and Remembrance Sundays and other appropriate civic events.

Any Member of Council may nominate an ex-Councillor for the role of Honorary Alderman. The appointment of Honorary Alderman is to confer recognition on previous Councillors who, over a period of time, have made a significant contribution to the Council in particular and public service. They should meet the following criteria in that they.

- No longer hold the position of Councillor;
- Must have served for a minimum of 20 years on the Council;
- Must have rendered eminent services during their time on the Council;
- Must have made a significant contribution to the Council and the people it represents; and
- are no longer politically active.

Councillor Sean Anstee has proposed that former Councillors Mrs Dixon and Ward be conferred the status of Honorary Alderman and has submitted the following in support of the nomination:

MRS PAMELA DIXON MBE

Having been elected as a member of Trafford Council in 1990, Mrs. Dixon went on to become Mayor of Trafford from 2004 to 2005. She has previously served as Chairman of Governors at Heyes Lane Primary School, Timperley and remains on the governing body today. While she was Mayor, Mrs. Dixon attended in excess of 300 functions and raised more than £50,000 for the Mayor's Charity Fund. Mrs Dixon did not seek reelection at the end of her term in May 2018.

MRS E. V. WARD

Elected on the 7th May 1992, representing Flixton Ward, Mrs. Ward made a significant contribution to the borough through her extensive involvement with Planning Committee, most recently as Chairman of the committee. Also a former Mayor of Trafford, Mrs. Ward's contribution to the borough is significant and worthy of acclaim.